The University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Awards

Dream Big. Dream Gold.

This fall, five groundbreaking graduates will join the long list of Hawkeye luminaries who have received the University of Iowa's highest alumni honor. Since 1963, the UI has recognized its world-changing graduates with the Distinguished Alumni Awards.

From leaders in health care to experts in business and astrophysics, this year's recipients continue the tradition of Hawkeye excellence. Meet the class of 2022, which will be honored in a Homecoming week ceremony Oct. 28.

2022 Award recipients

H. Mitchell D'Olier, 68BA, 71JD

Service Award

A skilled lawyer and business executive with a passion for philanthropy, H. Mitchell "Mitch" D'Olier has been advocating for the people of the 50th state for the last 50 years. He also has helped...

Bob Franklin, 98BA

Hickerson Recognition Award

Bob Franklin is a savvy entrepreneur and devoted Hawkeye who has used his business acumen to create connections and inspire philanthropy in the University of Iowa community.

As a memb...

Joseph "Joe" Gaylord, 67BA

Achievement Award

Joe Gaylord ranks among the nation's most seasoned political consultants and is an accomplished strategist, fundraiser, and educator who has shared his knowledge with thousands of political candi...

Donald Gurnett, 62BSEE, 63MS, 65PhD

Faculty Award

Donald Gurnett was a pioneer in the field of plasma wave research whose innovative instrumentation captured a profusion of data during more than 30 exceptional space research missions, including ...

Farah Towfic, 11PharmD

Recent Graduate Award

Farah Towfic has helped fast-track global health care advances, using her leadership skills, determination, and practical experience to develop critical standards for administering COVID-19 vacci...

Related Content

A former recreational therapist charts an unconventional path to Hollywood.

The Tippie College of Business graduate is vice president of consumer creation strategy at the sportswear company's headquarters in Beaverton, Oregon.

With the start of a new year upon us, it's time to look back at your favorite University of Iowa stories from 2018. Here are Iowa Magazine's top 10 most-read articles of the year: The Nomadic Life (spring 2018) Hawkeye football favorite Paki O'Meara (10BA) finds ultimate freedom in backpacking around the world, taking photos that inspire a sense of wonder. PHOTO COURTESY PAKI O'MEARA Kinnick at 100 (summer 2018) This past summer marked two historically significant dates for Hawkeye fans: the 100th anniversary of the birth of Nile Kinnick (40BA), and the 75th anniversary of his tragic death. In memory of Iowa's favorite son, scholar, and Ironman, we look back on his life and legacy. Ahead of the Game (spring 2018) The Iowa football team becomes the first in the nation to equip the majority of its players with a state-of-the-art new helmet designed to improve player safety. PHOTO: MARK STASTNY Hollywood U (fall 2018) Alumni success in TV and film shines the spotlight on Iowa's? flourishing screenwriting program. ILLUSTRATION: FABIEN GILBERT / ARTISTIQUE INTERNATIONAL Mountain Roots (spring 2018) Nearly 80 years ago, an unlikely UI mountain-climbing club emerged from the cornfields of Iowa to become one of the most active in the world. Now the next generation of outdoorsmen continue in their Hawkeye family's footsteps. PHOTO COURTESY EBERT FAMILY The Secrets of Sleep (fall 2018) UI doctors and researchers work to shine light on the third of our lives we spend in the dark. Illustration: John Emigh Fry's Dream Team (fall 2018) FRYFest honors Hayden Fry's legendary 1983 coaching tree. PHOTO: UI ATHLETICS Going the Distance (spring 2018) UI-trained dentist Deb Carneol (92DDS) completes seven marathons on seven continents in seven days. PHOTO: MARK CONLON/WORLDMARATHONCHALLENGE.COM At 105, Our Oldest Hawkeye? (spring 2018) Catherine Shaw Shors (35BSC), who earned her business degree from Iowa more than eight decades ago, celebrated a milestone birthday in May. 1936 HAWKEYE YEARBOOK A Heroic Homecoming (spring 2018) Avengers: Infinity War director Joe Russo (92BA) receives a superhero's welcome at his alma mater. PHOTOS: Justin Torner

The mission of Senior College is to provide high-quality educational opportunities for seniors.

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Statement unless you have disabled them in your browser.