Board of Directors

The University of Iowa Center for Advancement is governed by a volunteer board of directors that elects our officers and appoints our leadership.
* An asterisk denotes Executive Committee members
Dale E. Baker
Golden, Colorado
* P. Sue Beckwith, MD
(80BS, 84MD, 15MBA)
Waukee, Iowa
Stephen H. Belyn
Chicago, Illinois
James W. Carney
Des Moines, Iowa
* Andrew W. Code (Chair)
(80BBA, 81MBA)
Hinsdale, Illinois
Frederick J. Crawford
Columbus, Georgia
Chris D. DeWolf
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Kathleen A. Dore
(72BA, 84MBA)
New York, New York
Lois A. Eichacker
Chicago, Illinois
* Janice Ellig (Vice Chair)
New York, New York
* Cassandra S. Foens, MD
(83BS, 87MD, 92R)
Waterloo, Iowa
Perry A. Glassgow
Eldridge, Iowa
Kevin R. Gruneich
Park City, Utah
Thomas R. Hanson
Hinsdale, Illinois
Miekeleen Hart
Akron, Ohio
* Carol Havemann-Lynch
(69BBA, 72JD)
Houston, Texas
Mark A. Kaufman
Oak Brook, Illinois
Casey D. Mahon
(73BA, 76JD)
Iowa City, Iowa
* Barbara A. McKenzie
Des Moines, Iowa
Bruce E. Ringdahl
(89DDS, 94MS)
Columbia, Missouri
John Ruan IV
Des Moines, Iowa
Soumyo Sarkar
New York, New York
Dyan Smith
(72BA, 76MA)
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Mary Joy Stead
Scottsdale, Arizona
Carl W. Stuart
Austin, Texas
* Gregs G. Thomopulos
Iowa City, Iowa
Nathan R. Tross
Highland Park, Illinois
* Thomas J. Veale
Palos Verdes Estates, California
* Barbara J. Wilson, PhD
Ex officio
Iowa City, Iowa
Suzanne S. Yoon
Chicago, Illinois
Catherine Zaharis
Iowa City, Iowa

Lifetime Honorary Directors

Dennis L. Boatman, MD
(62BA, 64MS, 66MD)
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Susan K. Boyd
Iowa City, Iowa
Sue W. Cannon
Marana, Arizona
Ralph H. Congdon, MD
(61BA, 65MD, 72R)
Davenport, Iowa
Nolden Gentry
(60BA, 64JD)
Des Moines, Iowa
Leonard A. Hadley
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Donald W. Heineking
Iowa City, Iowa
Curtis K. Lane
Omaha, Nebraska
Erling Larson, Jr., MD
St. Augustine, Florida
Katherine A. (KAP) Petersen Linder
Manson, Iowa
Jill N. McLaughlin
Moline, Illinois
John Pappajohn
Des Moines, Iowa
Mary Louise Petersen
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Mark W. Putney
(51BA, 57JD)
Carefree, Arizona
Carroll J. Reasoner
(73BA, 76JD)
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Dan C. Roberts
(76BBA, 83PhD)
Cordillera, Colorado
Gary F. Seamans
Tucson, Arizona
Wallace J. Sulentic
Waterloo, Iowa
John E. Tyrrell, MD
(47BA, 50MD)
Manchester, Iowa
Nancy B. Willis
(77BA, 80JD)
Iowa City, Iowa


Andrew W. Code
Janice Ellig
Vice Chair
Lynette L. Marshall
Sheila J. F. Baldwin
Vice President and Assistant Secretary
Sherri P. Furman
Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
Diane K. Brownlee

Iowa Magazine
Explore the latest stories from Iowa Magazine.
Related Content

The Hawkeye Marching Band was one of two areas to exceed 180 gifts during the University of Iowa's 24-hour online giving day in 2021. Its members are ready to inspire more participation during this spring's event.

In his final column, retiring archivist David McCartney reflects on the University of Iowa's commitment to records preservation.

Greg Clark dedicated his career to helping military veterans. Now he and his late wife are extending their support to veterans through their estate plans at the University of Iowa. Greg and Joanne Clark It's been 53 years, but Greg Clark (85MA) still remembers the day like it was yesterday. March 13, 1968. Clark was driving the lead vehicle near a military compound in Binh Phouc, Vietnam, when he hit a landmine and veered off into a rice field. "The next thing I knew I couldn't see?I thought I had gone blind," says Clark, who was a combat engineer during the Vietnam War. "Thankfully, I just couldn't see because of all the dirt and mud that was in my eyes." Along with three others, Clark was loaded into a medivac helicopter and flown to a military hospital in Saigon, Vietnam. He was fortunate in that he sustained only a few wounds on his hands and legs, had tinnitus, and experienced short-term hearing loss. This dangerous moment in Vietnam, though, had a big impact on what Clark would pursue professionally. Greg Clark "Even though I was wounded when my vehicle hit a landmine, my fear level up to that point was relatively minimal compared to those who were out in the jungle for extended periods of time. So many troops had it much worse than I did," says Clark. "Vietnam planted a seed and fostered a compassion for those who actually did what I was prepared to do but was fortunate enough to not have to do: combat. In turn, it played a role in my path forward." Clark, of Garnavillo, Iowa, pursued a psychology degree at the University of Northern Iowa and eventually came to the University of Iowa to earn a master's degree from the counselor education program?all the while working full-time as a pilot with Lifeguard Air Ambulance service in Cedar Rapids. He chose Iowa because of a lifetime love for the university. "I've always considered myself a Hawkeye fan, and I had planned to go to the University of Iowa," says Clark. "Iowa's counseling education program exposed me to different components of being a counselor and different types of counseling?family, marriage, individual, and group counseling. I graduated with a well-rounded sense of confidence." In 1985, Clark was hired by the federal government to create what is now known as the Cedar Rapids Vet Center, an outreach program through the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs that provides individual and group counseling to veterans, service members, and their families. Throughout his career in Cedar Rapids and in private practice, Clark?now retired?worked with nearly 1,000 veterans. "My heart has always been with, and for, the veterans," says Clark. "My late wife, Joanne, always referred to my veteran clients as my friends. There is a bond and brotherhood between veterans, and that is why my wife and I decided to help those veterans who are trying to better themselves by establishing these gifts?and hopefully these veteran students will be encouraged by the awareness that others do care about them." Greg Clark and Dean Lee, his roommate in flight school Through a bequest in their estate plans, the Clarks have established the Joanne and Gregory Clark Memorial Veterans Support Fund and the Joanne and Gregory Clark Memorial Scholarship Fund. The funds will benefit University of Iowa students who are veterans and will provide student aid, academic programming, or instructional technology that enhances the educational experience. "Over the years, I've learned the importance of giving and the wisdom and benefits of it?everyone wins when you do," says Clark. "I would hope our giving helps future veterans and military personnel improve their quality of life as well as motivates them to give back as well."

The most common ways you can support the University of Iowa area(s) of your choice

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Statement unless you have disabled them in your browser.